Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of TK556
    TK556
    Survivalist
    member2

Welcome! Please introduce yourself? (Name, age, gender, location for example)

TAZ, 40-ish (WOW where did all the time go?!), Guy, North America. Currently work in the building trades. I’ve been a professional soldier, Private Detective, Prison Guard, airplane mechanic, auto mechanic, wild land firefighter, Bodyguard, Pharmacy Tech, the list goes on.. So I guess that’s where all the time went, eh?

Since when are you into survival and preparedness and what made you get into it?

Grew up this way. Mom survived WW2 in the jungles of the Philippines. Four of my Uncles died fighting the Japs. Dad grew up on a farm during the Great Depression. We ALWAYS had extra food and powdered milk stored in the house. Serving in the military overseas me showed a side of the world most people don’t get to see (or is it HAVE to see?). This made me value what we have in the 1st world more than most, I guess. It also taught me how easily it can be swept away.

Why is survival and preparedness important or interesting for you? What scenario are you preparing for?

It’s a way of feeling secure in a very insecure world. I once read about a 14 car accident that overwhelmed a region’s emergency services and hospitals. What happens when the next quake hits? Or another ice storm stops the trucks coming? My main concern is an economic collapse. Empires in history have ended most often with a whimper, not a bang. Rome went through what the United States is doing. The rest of the developed world won’t be far behind, or it will simply let the US slide into the slag heap of history and move on without them.

How would you describe your prepping / survival philosophy? What matters for you?