Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of benjammin
    benjammin
    Survivalist
    member2

A long time ago I worked as a fix-it guy in remote locations in the middle of sprawling wheat fields. One hot summer day I was out working a site with battery power and needed some water to refill the cells. I called to have someone deliver a gallon to me, and proceeded with other maintenance tasks. A short time later, an old geezer drove up and dropped off a gallon jug with no label. As it was a particularly warm day, I had already consumed most of my drinking water, and was pondering whether I should chug some of what was brought up (water to refill batteries has to be pretty pure or it is worse that worthless). An angel spoke into my ear that I should make sure I have enough water to top off the cells first, then I could drink any left over. So I proceeded to fill the first cell. Upon pouring in the liquid, there came an eruption of green ooze out of the cell and the distinct odor of chlorine wafted over me. I had to leave the little shed promptly and could only watch as the eruption poured over the concrete floor and continued to produce a noxious cloud.

I said an angel spoke to me, because I was pretty thirsty and would not normally have thought first to prioritize the battery filling ahead of personal needs. As I pondered what was going on, I made a call down to find out what was in the jug. After some time, I was informed that there were two jugs prepped for delivery, one was the water I requested, the other was 10 molar muriatic (hydrochloric) acid. The old geezer had confused the two. Had I chugged from the jug like I wanted to, it would’ve probably cored out my insides within a minute, and I’d have suffered a miserable, lonely death on that hill. After I was told of the mix up, I sat on on the tailgate of my rig, pondering life for a good long while. I was smart enough even at that time to realize how close I had just come.