Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 21 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of tukie2
    tukie2
    Survivalist
    member3

Welcome! Please introduce yourself? (Name, age, gender, location for example)

Tukie 2 Female age 52.

Since when are you into survival and preparedness and what made you get into it?

Was raised in the prepping lifestyle, gardening, canning etc. since I was tiny. Born in the UP Michigan, most of my relatives still live an off the grid lifestyle. I am a single mom now, with 2 kids. My husband was special forces and passed about 10 years ago. I need to raise my own food to make ends meet. I am a nurse, with a specialty in emergent care and naturopathic remedies. Live in Washington state now. My friends and parents think I am a nut-job.

Why is survival and preparedness important or interesting for you? What scenario are you preparing for?

I think we will be forced into martial law, and economic collapse. I have 2 boys still at home. I am trying to get them prepared. My whole life is geared towards training them and giving them the skills to survive what may come. Hard to do as a single mom. We live on one acre with a million acre back yard.

How would you describe your prepping / survival philosophy? What matters for you?

My philosophy at this point is to stop being scared, it doesn’t help anything. I find that if something terrifies me, Ebola, marauders, those little wolf mechanical thingies that could be made into weapons….I figure out how to fight it instead of breaking down and letting fear rule my life. I am still scared, but I am more prepared for it. Family is everything. I prep for them…and also to help those who need it. I figure what kind of world will they live in, if we are always shoot on sight…follow a moral and ethical code, help who you can, and take the others out.

Do you have some favorite quotes or words of wisdom you like?

If it’s stupid but it works….it’s not stupid….. (taken from personal experience)