Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 20 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of 74
    Survivalist
    rnews

Like a few other folks I started shooting a bow as a kid. My father bought a recurve for me when I was about 10 in 1965. Not sure where that got to, but I didn’t have another bow until about 1985 when I bought a Browning Excellorator Plus. It was a nice bow for the time with an adjustable weight 55#-70# I think let off was about 50%. I picked up a few old recurves at flea markets and yard sales, I always liked recurves and just kept looking for them.

I had all that stuff and more stored in my garage ceiling, then one day one of my motorcycles leaked gas from the petcock and caught fire destroying the bike and all the bows @ 1996. So now I have a couple compound bows and 2 recurves I bought used.

I haven’t practiced at all for a long time, but I’m going to start now and shoot at least once a week. I decided to buy a release yesterday. I was shooting without a tab which wouldn’t normally bother me, but I have a cut on the end of my finger and it was difficult to pull the string. So I figure i’l be more accurate with a release anyway even if they are a nuisance to use, but I’ll be able to shoot as long as a have at least one finger working.

Profile photo of freedom
    freedom
    Survivalist
    rnews

I do not own a bow. I have been thinking about it for a long time. I have a good friend that owns three and he has been telling me to buy one. I need to learn which one to buy and which one would be easier for me to handle.

Profile photo of 74
    Survivalist
    rnews

Freedom,
    Crossbows are the easiest to aim well, they can be used with optical sights like a firearm. There is no effort to hold the string.

Compound bows would be second on the list. They can have sights, the pull wieght is reduced with let off so you can hold the string with less effort.