Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of Nitro
    Nitro
    Survivalist
    member1

Welcome! Please introduce yourself? (Name, age, gender, location for example)

Hey guys, my name is Mike, I am 19, male and in Western North Carolina.

Since when are you into survival and preparedness and what made you get into it?

I’ve recently started acquiring many of my own things, not specifically SHTF stuff, but my own possessions and realize now just how easy it could be to lose not only the things that I own but also my family and friends with the unpredictable direction of our world. I’ve spent a lot of time with local Guardsmen (Being a mechanic/engineer/fabricator by trade, I’ve built and repaired vehicles for said soldiers while they served overseas) pulled 4 solid years of junior ROTC in high school with at least three semesters worth each year and a few of my good friends have small arsenals and are all more than capable with each and every device that they possess.

Why is survival and preparedness important or interesting for you? What scenario are you preparing for?

My family is the most important thing to me, when the inevitable happens it is possible that my younger brother may not be old enough to properly think every situation through thoroughly, or that my parents may be in their older ages and unable to defend themselves physically or mentally (not to say that they can’t, but everyone does undeniably suffer from mental/physical degradation at some point) and I want to do everything in my power to make sure that my blood family is alive and well enough for us to conduct safe operation. My extended family, soldiers, important neighbors and very close friends will be my second priority after securing an AO, should the need arise.

How would you describe your prepping / survival philosophy? What matters for you?