Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of drunkmonkey
    drunkmonkey
    Survivalist
    rprepper

Welcome! Please introduce yourself? (Name, age, gender, location for example)
    Hi, my handle on this forum is Drunk Monkey (don’t let the name fool you) I just recently moved to sunny southwest Florida and I am a few years shy of 40. I know that I am an anomaly down here in Florida. When I talk to the old timers in the area they are all programmed like robots to ask if I have already retired… of course not I am under 40!
    I have a bachelor of science in agriculture (I’ve been growing trees all my life), served in the Army Reserve for several years as a heavy equipment operator in a combat engineer unit. I ran my own business for a while gaining loads of experience in masonry, electrical, plumbing, carpentry and I am an expert Jerry-rigger. If you need something to work I can make it work even if I have to beat it with a hammer.

Since when are you into survival and preparedness and what made you get into it?
    I was working at a tree nursery in Atlanta on 9/11 when we got news over the radio that a plane struck the WTC. See a few months prior to that, me and the future Mrs. had visited NYC in June and we rode in on the train from Hoboken NJ and arrived underneath the WTC plaza to spend a day sight-seeing. It made me sick to see the attacks and I then realized that life is short, so I am going to make damn sure I can hang till the end of the party.

Why is survival and preparedness important or interesting for you? What scenario are you preparing for?