Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 42 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of Novus Ordo
    Novus Ordo
    Hunter
    rprepper

To begin with, I’m a very novice gardener with only my second 25 x 7 raised garden currently starting to produce.  I did grow up with one every year planted by my mother and grandmother, but I was just a labor force as a kid and I didn’t learn much.

In any case, my studies landed me on this site by Australian Geoff Lawton.  He has what I think is a unique course on “Permaculture Design” with the end result being having a fully sustainable “Food Forest” that perpetually produces food with minimal maintenance after a few years.  Has anyone taken the course and or implemented some of these tactics and if so, do they work?  In theory, the trapping and use of rainwater via ponds and swales and the strategic planting of specific plants that compliment each other seems very feasible – unfortunately, I don’t have the acreage to try this currently.

http://www.geofflawton.com/fe/32461-surviving-the-coming-crises?r=y

The site will probably take you to a sort of sign up page (so they can capture your email), but once you give it the videos are all free.  He makes his money in the course ($1500 online – more in person) which gives you a certification if you pass it.

Appreciate any input or thoughts on long term self sufficient gardening or other sources.

Arms discourage and keep the invader and plunderer in awe, and preserve order in the world as well as property... mischief would ensue were the law-abiding deprived of the use of them.
    - Thomas Paine

Profile photo of 74
    Survivalist
    rnews

Novus,

First, I didn’t get past $1500 line and stopped. I’m pretty sure you don’t need to either. He might have a lot of good info. With the internet there is literally more good information available then anyone could ever read. Not only that but there are some very gardeners in this group that would be happy to help you plan your garden.