Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 20 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of WhiteKnight
    WhiteKnight
    Survivalist
    rprepper

Good Morning/Evening all.

I just wanted to take a moment to share what (potentially) relevant lessons I’ve learned in my 7 years of paintball experience, both indoor and outdoor, sometimes in tournaments, sometimes up close and personal. But before I go on, let me point out some obvious differences between playing paintball and real combat (as I understand it).

A) Paintball is not life and death… people are obviously not going to behave quite the same. Their attacks will not be so reckless in real life (at least for the most part I assume), and there isn’t any real fear. The loud noises and terrifying sights and smells of combat won’t be there… etc etc. You get the picture. That being said, the basic tactics and strategies, as I have been told, are similar. Also, sometimes, new players are very scared to get hit, and act like its a real gunfight… more on that later.

B) Paintballs are not bullets. Paintballs can punch through cardboard, glass, and leaves. That’s about it. Bullets will punch through wood, concrete, etc depending on the round. Cover for paintball is not necessarily cover for real life! Also, paintballs are not all that accurate, and have an absolute maximum range of maybe 90-100 meters. Bullets fly farther, faster, and more accurately.

I hope Selco or others who have been in the real thing will modify these lessons as necessary, but I have a feeling they might apply to combat. So here we go.