Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of ValleyGal
    ValleyGal
    Medic
    member1

I am working on a Kindle, so nothing fancy with formatting. I am an EMT & not a MEDIC but I could not find an appropriate badge. I am a retired emergency manager. For yrs my primary concentration was in psychiatric medicine. You could say I have 2 strikes against me with this group b/c I worked in gov’t & my discipline & training is in psychiatric . Social work. I’ve been with Red Cross national disaster services. It’s been a wonderful experience & I’ve travelled all over the country living in very primitive environments, sometimes sleeping side by side on the floor with 500 survivors. I’ve loved almost every minute of it for over 20 yrs. I developed a community disaster mental health response team for the Commonwealth of Virginia. What I’ve really loved is being a volunteer serving fire, rescue, police after they have terribly traumatic events, I.e. children killed in train crash, suicides, child deaths when their care givers were suspected o f being the preps, for close to 30 yrs. It’s an EMS program called critical incident stress management. I became an EMT to get special skills in travelling w/o the Red Cross. I’m lucky to live in the mid-Atlantic on the Blue Ridge Mtns/Shenandoal Valley. Sister to 6, mother to 5, wife to 1. I garden, forage, can/preserve, etc. Have learned through my husband’s family to butcher hogs & chickens. Most of my old skills I learned from my husband who taught me to garden, can &

"When opportunity knocks......
    some people object to the noise"

Profile photo of 74
    Survivalist
    rnews

Hi valleygal,
    No strikes, no balls, your at bat with a clean record. Nobody here has any ill will. We disagree occasionally but as a whole everyone’s comments are valued.

Profile photo of MountainBiker
    MountainBiker
    Survivalist
    member10