Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of MountainBiker
    MountainBiker
    Survivalist
    member10

Having read the Joy of Socks thread, I thought I would start one on undies too. In hot weather, and especially with long walks or hikes where the legs are constantly in motion and I’m sweating, in years past I sometimes would get chafed in the inner thighs. Were that to happen when trying to bug out, you’d be in trouble. I came to realize that it was my wet from sweat undies causing the chafing, or more specifically my tighty whities. When I knew my planned activity might pose a risk of chafing I started going commando in the summer and that worked reasonably well, though it is somewhat less than ideal, and we’ll leave it at that. The solution I found was these:
    http://www.duluthtrading.com/store/mens/mens-underwear/67019.aspx I’ve been wearing them for several years now and have not chafed even once. They are certainly pricier than your basic 3 pair in a package kind of undies but they last for years. After several years use they are still like new. Well worth every cent in my opinion.

Profile photo of freedom
    freedom
    Survivalist
    rnews

MountainBiker, a cure or prevention of chafing rash or any type of rash like baby rash is natural cornstarch. I have been using it for over 20 years and it works every time and it is cheap.

Profile photo of sledjockey
    sledjockey
    Bushcrafter
    member8

Never had a problem with either commando in summer and thin, cotton boxers in winter. Any use of briefs of ANY kind always seem to cause chafing for me. When I rode mountainbikes I had all sorts of issues with those derned tight shorts. Breezy and loose is good for me.

Not sure how people wear the grape smugglers.

http://ageofdecadence.com

Leopard
    Leopard
    Survivalist
    member8