Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    flatlander
    flatlander
    Survivalist
    member2

More at Link: http://ageofdecadence.com/first-aid-kit/

It seems that a very hot topic among people I speak with is field medicine. To be specific: first aid kits and tourniquets. After finally getting tired of having to repeat my same spiel on the dangers of tourniquets improperly used and how first aid kits tend to have WAY too much stuff in them, I felt almost forced to put fingers to keyboard and make a post.

Fist off, I want to let everyone know that I am not an “armchair commando” when it comes to field medicine. I was a paramedic/EMT for 4 years and then joined the Navy, where I was a Hospital Corpsman for 9.5 years. Overall, I have almost 14 years of direct patient care in both field and hospital settings with 9 years being in a pre-hospital setting. I was ACLS, BTLS, ATLS, PALS, NALS, EMT Instructor, BLS Affiliate Faculty, Combat Lifesaver Instructor, the list goes on. In another words: I am not a trauma surgeon or a contributor to AMA journals on pre-hospital trauma treatments, but I have quite a bit of hands on experience and training.