Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 51 total)
  • Author
    Selco
    Selco
    Survivalist
    member6

If you have questions, comments or feedback to my last blog post Urban Survival in Apartment please post here.

Robin
    Robin
    Survivalist
    member8

Knowledge is like ammo. You want to gather as much as you can but don’t give up any to others. Balancing that will be an everyday affair.
    Be the person that says hello to others. You may be in a hurry but an additional 2 or 3 minutes can pay dividends.
    A fruitful conversation is a two way street. If asked just give a general answer: “Where do you work? Oh, I am a teacher/garbage man/street worker.” will put your subject at ease and then you can start asking them stuff. So many people go through life not telling anyone, except family, about what they do for a living.
    Most conversations are about: job, personal health, health of family. Keep your questions to these categories and you will be surprised what you learn.
    Robin

Profile photo of MountainBiker
    MountainBiker
    Survivalist
    member10

Yes, knowing your neighbors is a must and to that I would add making yourself useful either through things you do or things you know can result in you being perceived as an asset to the neighborhood rather than a liability. This is perhaps easier in small town or rural settings where being anonymous is very difficult to do. It is probably also easier for extroverts than introverts. Regardless of where you live or your personality type, just making it a point to smile and say hello to everyone you see in your neighborhood or building will get the process started. If you look for opportunities to be helpful, you’ll see them. They’re there.