Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 25 total)
  • Author
    Malgus
    Malgus
    Survivalist
    member8

Drawing on my knowledge and experience as a soldier, I thought I would write down several time-tested methods of denying an area to folks you don’t want in there… not talking about exploding things, but certain things that can dissuade the Bad Guys from raiding your farm, your garden, your barn, your home, you, etc… some are things I have used personally, some I’ve seen used and some I’ve read about…

First up – your standard 5 strand barbed wire fence. Unless your opponents are cows, this will do little to stop anyone motivated. But, it can be a decent start.

Razor wire, also known as concertina wire, is cheap and available. It’s straight up nasty. Three layers of concertina wire will give anyone pause. It CAN be defeated. The Bad Guys can hook it, attach that to the back end of a pickup truck and then drive off, dragging the wire with them. The other method, that I have used personally, is a small roll of carpet. Throw the carpet over the concertina and then lay on it. The concertina gets squashed down and your pals basically run over you. Once they’re over, you follow. Staking the concertina down, tying it off to hard points, attaching it to anything heavy, like cinderblocks, will keep it in place. It’s formidable, but it can, and has, been defeated.

Punji sticks. Our older vets will remember this fresh hell. Dig a hole roughly 18″ square, about a foot deep, then stick sharpened stakes in the bottom, points up. Camouflage the hole. Unwary Bad Guy steps in the hole and spikes himself. For added mean-ness, smear the spikes with excrement before you camouflage the hole. The Bad Guy won’t die from being spiked, but blood poisoning and sepsis will get him eventually.