wildartist
wildartist
Survivalist
member7

We go for old-fashioned high quality hand tools, not wanting to rely on the availability of electricity. I am a skilled carpenter and my husband knows many other things including plumbing etc. My weakness is I’m not sure how to professionally sharpen everything. This is a skill I want to learn.

So our current inventory includes a two man saw; bow saws; hand saws (crosscut and ripsaws); heavy hammers (20-22oz) since I learned early on that if you know how to swing one, a heavy hammer does the work–plus I can’t bear wimpy ones; hacksaws; a meat saw for big game–cutting down the backbone to halve it; coping saw; keyhole saw; brace and bit; various and sundry screwdrivers; pliers, offset pliers, dykes; wire cutters; adjustable wrenches; vise-grips; etc. Weak area: Need a larger inventory of screws and nails in case of limited availability in the future.
Other needs: extension ladder (we have stepladders), sawhorses; bolt cutters; splitting mauls; axes; sledge hammers. We have hatchets and splitting wedges. It would be nice to have a usable froe to make shingles, too…

Have a few masonry tools but if we don’t have concrete, they are not much use. Although, I saw ‘cob’ used in India on huts and grain storage sheds. It seems to survive the fierce monsoon rains so I guess it might work here. I hear they use it in England, so would like to experiment. Never too old to learn something new!