nlouise
nlouise
Survivalist
member4

We live in a somewhat rural setting. We have chickens and plan to get goats for milking after we complete a few other things. Our state is full of cities, so being rural out here means we are only 30 minutes from bigger cities.

I have been prepping water, food and first aid supplies for 7 years now. We are in the process of building rain gutters onto our home. Our immediate issue is home security because my dogs are friendly, and as I described in another thread I have glass windows and doors all over this house. People don’t typically have basements here because of earthquakes so being on a slab the basement idea is not doable unless we come up with some cool idea elsewhere on this property and have the funds to back it up. lol

I have printed out a lot of how-to info off the web and printed hard copies of everything I think I need to know and put it in binders and tabbed it so I can find it. If the grid goes down then cds or dvds won’t do me any good.

Canning and dehydrating are skills I have learned in the last 4 years and do pretty regularly. For instance, during certain holidays certain meats go on sale (like Turkey at Thanksgiving) so I will buy about 10 of them and can them. And I do this with ham, chicken breasts, and bacon too. When certain fruits or veges go on sale in their season I buy a bunch of it and dehydrate it too. I make it a habit to buy a few packs of canning jar lids every time I shop certain stores just to build up a supply to stash away.

I am learning to make my own rugs and blankets. I think this is a good skill, especially if clothing can be recycled to make these things. During the great depression people did the very same thing.

We have 2 wood burners and a big fireplace inside our home that we could cook on and heat the house with in a grid down situation. We have an outdoor fireplace that could be used in the summer.