Profile photo of MountainBiker
MountainBiker
Survivalist
member10

freedom, I’d be OK with a sales tax in lieu of property and even income taxes so long as there were no exceptions. The problem is always the exceptions that gives someone a free ride while doubling the tax on someone else. If the sales tax is the same rate no matter whether you are buying a boat or a banana, a house or a hat, then I’m OK with that. When I bought my house in VT I paid $4,000 some odd dollars State Tax on the transaction because I was a non-resident whereas the resident down the road buying a house didn’t have to pay any tax at all.

c, I hear you and have been in a similar boat paying plenty of taxes. I had an executive position and was paid well which resulted in my paying more in taxes than most families gross, but I received no additional services. At the local level I got less services being my kids went to a private school 7 – 12 while I paid double the average property taxes in my town, and now even in retirement I pay double what most people pay.