Profile photo of MountainBiker
MountainBiker
Survivalist
member10

Blaze, the coast may get the wind but the inland areas sometimes get the flooding which does more damage than the wind. The year I graduated from high school there were “unprecedented” floods where I lived. My Dad was out of work for a couple months as a result and I saw how close my neighborhood came to going underwater. Ever since then I have always reviewed topo maps for anyplace I was considering living. I am convinced that nobody should ever be surprised that their property has flooded. You can also see where dams are and know where the water will go should the dam break. Irene was the storm of a lifetime here in VT and wasn’t anything I expected when I bought my place but despite much of my yard flooding as water came off the mountain faster than the stream could carry it away I knew it would never get to the house itself based on the topo maps.