Profile photo of Novus Ordo
Novus Ordo
Hunter
rprepper

Lots of good discussion here – How do I blend in?  I don’t really – I wear what I want to wear (jeans, t-shirts, baseball hat) and act like I want to act.  What I do though is I keep to myself – that is my blend I guess.  My neighbors know me as that guy who talks to me every once in a while and offers to help out when needed (fixing the fences, projects, etc.).  I’m a military veteran, but other than the required base stickers on my vehicles I don’t advertise.  I ALWAYS keep my garage door closed so no one is driving by and eyeing my stuff.  When they do catch a glimpse it just looks like a bunch of junk/boxes/bags.  My wife an I are naturally anti-social so we are both at home not having guests except family about once a year or so.  When I go out shooting I keep all the weapons in rectangle cases and I load them in the dark early.  When I come back, I leave them in the truck until dark.  I do have a couple BOV’s, but the jeep is older and the paint is faded and chipping off and the Ford Expedition is just like the soccer mom’s SUV of a few years ago.  I’ve talked to all of my kids to not talk to their friends about any of the preps.  If they come over and look in the shelves, it looks like it’s just well stocked.  I don’t think that gangs would pick my house over any other, probably less since I have a 100 lb. dog in the backyard.  Anyway, that’s how I do it – low profile.  I just look like a normal DIY type of guy – and I am.